top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Nie ma jeszcze tagów.

My Opinion on Social Media...


DISCLAIMER: THIS IS MY PERSONAL VIEW OF THE SOCIAL MEDIA AND HOW THE SOCIAL MEDIA AFFECTS ME, AS A PERSON!

Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat are a few of the many social media platforms that exist. These websites allow us to share our thoughts, interests and memories and allow us to communicate with other people. Even though, all the social media platforms have many benefits, I think you can agree that social media can cause harm and change the way people view themselves and the world around them.

I have seen many people who's behaviour and decisions were influenced by social media. But, i'm here to talk about me, and how I think social media has changed me as a person. It all started off with a 'simple' Facebook account, because having a Facebook account was 'cool' back then. I wasn't too influenced by it, as I was still very young and I didn't pay attention to all the newest fashion trends or the hot celebrity gossip. I used it as a time killer, not as something I had to check everyday... 'just in case'... I mostly used it to chat with my best friend, and even by doing that, Facebook was slowly taking over.

Then came Instagram. A well-known app that allows you to share your memories in the form of pictures. Before you post a picture you are asked if you want to change anything i.e. filters, contrast, brightness etc. Of course, many people, including me, don't have mad photography skills and sometimes give their photos a little enchantment. Scrolling through the Instagram news feed, already following all your friends and favourite celebrities, you start to notice that your pictures aren't as good... they're not... perfect...

That's when I started to download apps that made you perfect. All these blemishes and spots HAD to disappear. And yet, I was still not satisfied... deep down I knew that I could never, ever be someone else... but I didn't want that to be true... I was so desperate to achieve the perfect person I will never be... People started posting these pictures with the caption, #nofilter or #nomakeup... Everytime I questioned..."Why can't I look like that?"... "Why can't I be beautiful?"... "What have I done to deserve this?".... Deserve what?... Having wonderful friends, a loving family and a warm house?... Being able to get an education?... I never knew how ungrateful I was... I never knew how stupid I was to let something like that, influence ME...

So what came next... a Twitter account... a Snapchat account... and a Pinterest account... All of these social media platforms combined their forces to break me down... to tear me apart... to not let me post a picture without any hesitation... I knew that this had to stop... I knew I had to start believing in myself again... believing in what I can achieve... knowing what I am worth... but I didn't... I didn't delete my accounts... I didn't press that delete button... I kept them... because like I say... "just in case"...

People say you learn a lesson everyday... well I have been revising my lesson for many years...

Nobody's Perfect,

Justyna<3,

xoxo

bottom of page